Home > SI Documentation (v14) > User Guide > Projects > Project Editor > Tools Tab > Lock

Lock

The Lock feature allows you to lock Items from being edited within a Project, lock the entire project from being edited, and/or lock reports from being generated. The latter two can be manually set here or they can be triggered by Workflow Rules. Each feature has an unlock option. 

 

lock button.jpg

 

You must have permissions to lock/unlock Items, Projects, or Project Reports. 

Lock Project

 

This will lock a Project for all edits, i.e. the Project is read-only. This can be set manually here or a lock can be triggered via Workflow Rules. You'll be prompted to confirm:

 

project prompt.jpg

 

Locked Projects display with the following icon in the Project Explorer:

 

locked project.jpg

 

This allows you to ignore these Workflow Rules for this Project moving forward.

Lock Project Reports

 

This will lock Project Reports and users will not be able to generate reports for the Project.This can be set manually here or a lock can be triggered via Workflow Rules.You'll be prompted to confirm:

 

lock reports prompt.jpg

 

Projects with locked Reports display with the following icon in the Project Explorer:

 

locked report.jpg

Unlocking Project and Reports

 

When you unlock a Project or unlock the reports for a Project, the following prompt will display if there are any Workflow Rules that exist that lock Projects or Reports:

 

workflow rules.jpg

Lock Project Items

 

You may wish to lock certain items within a Project to prevent them from being edited, e.g. installed items. Select the Products you wish to lock. Click Yes on the following prompt:

 

 

A lock icon will appear in a column within the Project Editor indicating that the items are locked:

 

locked item.jpg

Project Setting

 

There is a Project Setting that will atomatically lock items when they are marked as "Installed":

 

 

Last modified

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.