Home > SI Documentation (v14) > Administrator Guide > Setup > Control Panel > Workflow Rules

Workflow Rules

Setting

 

workflow rules cp.jpg

 

Workflow rules allow you to set up notifications and/or actions for when chosen criteria are met. They can be set up for the following "entities" in SI: Projects, Purchase Orders, Tasks, Service Orders, and Service Plans. Each entity will have its own set of criteria. Each entity has two options for the action: Lock [entity] and Lock [entity] Reports. Notifications are "in-app" as well as emailed.

Details

 

This is the main interface where you will create and manage your Workflow Rules:

 

workflow rules dialog.jpg

 

When you click the New button and choose the entity for which you want to create a rule. If you are pre-filtered to a particular entity this step will be skipped.

 

entity.jpg

 

This opens the following interface (Project entity chosen for these screen shots):

 

general.jpg

General Tab

Execute On

 

Choose your "Execute on" option.

 

execute on.jpg

 

The options are:

 

Create - When the entity is created

Update - When the entity is updated. This option will have the most options for the Criteria

Delete - When the entity is deleted

Lock - When the entity is locked (see below)

Unlock - When the entity is unlocked

Lock Reports - When the entity's reports are locked

Unlock Reports - When the entity's reports are unlocked

Reminder (Projects and Service Plans only) - Set the number of days that a project has been checked out and the number of days before a Service Plan expires or auto-renews.

 

A name is required so you will need to enter one.

Criteria

 

The Criteria section is where you will determine what field values or actions should trigger the rule. Multiple criteria can be selected and all chosen criteria must be met to trigger a rule.

 

criteria.jpg

 

The criteria options will vary based on the entity chosen as well as the Execute On chosen. Common to all entities are User and User Role.

 

Projects

 

Criteria Description

User

Which user(s) trigger the rule
User Role All users assigned to a specific role

Status

When the status of a project matches selection(s)
Assigned To Changed When the Assigned To field changes for a Project
Sales Rep Changed  
Project Manager Changed  
Designer Changed  
Resource Added When a Resource is added 
Resources Deleted When a Resource is deleted
Cost When the cost of the project meets whatever threshold you set. Choices are: Equal To, Not Equal To, Greater Than, Less Than, Greater Than or Equal To, Less Than or Equal To
Price When the price of the project meets whatever threshold you set. Choices are: Equal To, Not Equal To, Greater Than, Less Than, Greater Than or Equal To, Less Than or Equal To
Margin When the margin of the project meets whatever threshold you set. Choices are: Equal To, Not Equal To, Greater Than, Less Than, Greater Than or Equal To, Less Than or Equal To
Markup When the markup of the project meets whatever threshold you set. Choices are: Equal To, Not Equal To, Greater Than, Less Than, Greater Than or Equal To, Less Than or Equal To
Total Price When the total price of the project meets whatever threshold you set. Choices are: Equal To, Not Equal To, Greater Than, Less Than, Greater Than or Equal To, Less Than or Equal To
Over Budget When the project price exceeds the budget field
Project Approved When a project is approved
Projects Unapproved When a project is unapproved
File Added When a file is added to a project
File Deleted When a file is deleted from a project
Revision Added When a revision is created
Revision Deleted When a revision is deleted
Change Order Added When a change order is created
Change Order Deleted When a change order is deleted
Change Order Status When a change order's Status changes. Options are Pending, Approved, and Rejected.
Accounting Estimate Number Changed When the Accounting Estimate Number field changes
Accounting Order Number Changed

When the Accounting Order Number changes

Notes Updated

When the Notes field is updated.

Comments Added When Comments are added.
Checked out for more than Here you can enter a number of days that a project has been checked out from the server

Purchase Orders

 

Criteria Description
User Which user(s) trigger the rule
User Role All users assigned to a specific role
Status When the order status matches the selection(s)
Total Price When the total price of the purchase order meets whatever threshold you set. Choices are: Equal To, Not Equal To, Greater Than, Less Than, Greater Than or Equal To, Less Than or Equal To
Published/Unpublished to Vendor Portal When a purchase order is published or unpublished to the Vendor Portal
Accounting Number Changed When the Accounting Order Number changes
Item Receipt Created When an Item Receipt is created.
Item Receipt Updated When changes are made to an existing Item Receipt.

Tasks

 

Criteria Description
User Which user(s) trigger the rule
User Role All users assigned to a specific role
Status When the task status matches the selection(s)
Resource Added When a Resource is added
Resource Deleted When a Resource is deleted
Published/Unpublished to Mobile Install When a task is published or unpublished to Mobile Install

Service Orders

 

Criteria Description
User Which user(s) trigger the rule
User Role All users assigned to a specific role
Status When the service order status matches the selection(s)
Resource Added When a Resource is added
Resource Deleted When a Resource is deleted
Total Price When the total price of the service order meets whatever threshold you set. Choices are: Equal To, Not Equal To, Greater Than, Less Than, Greater Than or Equal To, Less Than or Equal To
Published/Unpublished to Mobile Install When a task is published or unpublished to Mobile Install
Accounting Estimate Number Changed When the Accounting Estimate Number field changes

Service Plans

 

Criteria Description

User

Which user(s) trigger the rule
User Role All users assigned to a specific role
Status When the status of a Service Plan matches the selection(s)
Expires in Here you set the number of days ahead of a Service Plan's End Date.
Auto renew in Here you can set the number of days ahead of when a Service Plan will auto renew.

Notify Tab

 

This is where you will choose who will get notified when the rule is triggered:

 

notify.jpg

 

Here you can choose any SI users that you would like to receive in-app notifications as well as add any additional email addresses (for non-SI users) whom you would like to receive an e-mail notification when a rule is triggered. You can add a message that will display in the email if desired.

In-App Notifications

 

In-App Notifications are viewable in the upper right-hand corner of the SI interface:

 

notifications.jpg

 

A number will display on the button indicating how many notifications you have. While notifications are sent real-time, you can choose how often this button updates via your Application Settings.

 

Click the button to view the notifications:

 

view.jpg

 

If you receive notifications while not logged in you will see a notification the next time you log in:

 

prompt.jpg

E-mail Notifications

 

By default, if you receive a notification in-app you will also receive an e-mail as well. E-mail notification can also be set for non-SI users.

 

email notification.jpg

 

SI users can choose not to receive the e-mail notifications if desired. Simply click your user name in the upper-right corner of the SI Interface to display the My Account information:

 

user.jpg

 

Check the option shown below:

 

do not.jpg

Actions

 

You can choose whether or not you want to lock the entity or the entity's reports when the rule is triggered.

 

actions.jpg

 

When locked a lock icon will display next to the entity in its Explorer interface:

 

lock.jpg

 

When locked, an entity cannot be edited. When an entity's reports are locked, reports cannot be run for entity. They can only be unlocked by a user with permissions to unlock. To unlock an entity, go to the Tools tab of that entity's Explorer interface:

 

lock and unlock.jpg

 

Projects and project reports can also be unlocked from within the Project Editor via the Tools tab:

 

unlock project editor.jpg

 

When a user unlocks an entity or its reports, a check is run for all Workflow Rules that will lock the entity and its reports and allow the user to opt out of future locks when the selected rules are chosen. Example: a project is locked because it is over budget. A manager approves reviews and decides that this project can exceed the budget. When they unlock the project they can choose not to have the project locked again due to being over budget.

 

unlock prompt.jpg

 

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.