Home > SI Documentation (v12) > User Guide > Projects > Project Editor > Tools Tab > Lock

Lock

Features

 

The Lock feature allows you to lock Items from being edited within a Project, lock the entire project from being edited, and/or lock reports from being generated. The latter two can be manually set here or they can be triggered by Workflow Rules. Each feature has an unlock option. 

 

lock options.jpg

Details

 

You must have permissions to lock/unlock Items, Projects, or Project Reports. 

Lock Project

 

This will lock a Project for all edits, i.e. the Project is read-only. This can be set manually here or a lock can be triggered via Workflow Rules.

 

lock project.jpg

 

 

You'll be prompted to confirm:

 

project prompt.jpg

 

Locked Projects display with the following icon in the Project Explorer:

 

locked project.jpg

Lock Project Reports

 

This will lock Project Reports and users will not be able to generate reports for the Project.This can be set manually here or a lock can be triggered via Workflow Rules.

 

 

lock reports.jpg

 

You'll be prompted to confirm:

 

lock reports prompt.jpg

 

Projects with locked Reports display with the following icon in the Project Explorer:

 

locked reports.jpg

Lock Project Items

 

You may wish to lock certain items within a Project to prevent them from being edited, e.g. installed items.

 

lock items.jpg

 

Select the Products you wish to lock and then click the [Lock] button and select "Lock Items". Click [Yes] on the following prompt:

 

 

 

A lock icon will appear in a column within the Project Editor indicating that the items are locked:

 

 

 

If you want to unlock items, select them and then click the [Lock] button and select "Unlock Items".

Project Setting

 

There is a Project Setting that will atomically lock items when they are marked as "Installed":

 

 

Last modified

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.