Home > SIX 2013 Documentation > User Guide > Projects > Project Explorer > Revisions / Change Orders > Managing Revisions

Managing Revisions

Video

 

Steps

 

  1. In the Project Explorer, select the Project that you want to view/manage the Revisions for and click the Revisions tab in the bottom section of the interface.The Revisions tab displays all of the previous (not current) Revisions for a Project.

 

view revisions.jpg

 

From here you can Create a new Revision for the Project, Edit Notes on existing Revisions, Delete, Rename Revisions, and even export the list of Revisions to Excel:

 

You can also choose to promote a previous Revision back to be the current (editable) Revision via the [Promote as Project] button.

Promote as Project

 

The Promote as Project feature allows you promote or restore a previous Revision to be the current Revision. This is useful for when a Change Order you present to a Client is rejected and you don't want to manually go make all of the changes back to the original.

 

Click the [Promote as Project] button and choose either: "Promote as project and make current project a revision" or "Promote as project only".

 

Promote as project and make current project a revision

 

This is the safest option, when you choose this, the current Project will be saved as a Revision and the Revision you selected will be copied to be the "current" Revision. Use this when you don't want to overwrite the "current" Revision and would rather it be added to your Revision list in case you ever want to review it.

 

Example: Using the examples above. I have an "As sold" Revision 0, an accepted Revision 1 for the Project, then made changes to the "current" Revision, Revision 2. The client rejects the Change Order. I now want to "restore" Revision 1 to be the "current' project, but keep a copy of the "current" Revision for reference.

 

  1. Click the [Promote as Project] button and choose "Promote as project and make current project a revision".
  2. You will be prompted whether you are sure or not:

 

 

  1. You will be prompted to add notes to Revision 2, click [OK]:

 


 

  1. In the Project Explorer, the Revision 1 Project has been restored and is now labeled as Revision 3:

 

revision 3.jpg

 

Now if you click View, you will see your three previous Revisions:

 

revision list 2.jpg

Promote as project only

 

This will copy the Revision you've selected and replace the "current" Revision. Use this if you don't want to keep a record of what changes took place in the "current" project.

 

Example: I have an "As sold" Revision 0 and then made changes to the "current" Revision, Revision 1. The client rejects the Change Order. I now want to "restore" Revision 0 to be the "current' project, and not keep a record of the changes that were rejected.

 

  1. Click the [Promote as Project] button and choose "Promote as project only".
  2. You will be prompted whether you are sure or not:

 

 

  1. Now in the Project Explorer, the Revision 0 Project has been restored and is now labeled as Revision 2, replacing the previous (rejected) Revision 1:

 

revision 2 after promotion.jpg

 

When you view your Revisions for this Project, no record of Revision 1 was kept:

 

view revisions 3.jpg

Site Map for Projects

Edit section
Last modified
08:42, 30 Oct 2014

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.