Home > SI 2017 Documentation > User Guide > Projects > Project Explorer > Managing Projects > Check In / Check Out

Check In / Check Out

Feature

 

"Checked In" and "Checked Out" are the two statuses for active SI 2017 Projects.

 

Checked In - The most current Project files are on the SI 2017 Server. They can be Checked Out to Users to be edited.

Checked Out - The most current Project files are on your SI 2017 Client machine (*recommended) and are editable.

 

This means that there are two folders where your SI 2017 Projects reside depending on the Checked In/Checked Out status, a local folder when the project is "Checked Out" from the server, and a server folder for Project files that are "Checked In".

 

*recommended - the SI 2017 Project folder should be on your SI 2017 Client machine as this speeds up performance when editing projects.

 

When you create a SI 2017 Backup, only the files on your SI 2017 Server are backed up.

Details

 

Check In

 

Clicking the [Check In] button will transfer a copy of the local SI 2017 Project files to your SI 2017 Server. This will make the Project available to edit by other users depending on their Permissions. You should do this frequently (at least daily) for Projects so a backup copy of the Project file is made to your SI 2017 Server.

 

The default server folder for Project Files is: C:\DToolsSIXData\Projects

 

There are two Project Settings regarding the checking in of Projects:

 

Check In All

 

The [Check In All] button will Check In all Projects to the SI 2017 Server that are checked out to you on your SI 2017 Client machine. Time saver. When you click the [Check In All] button, you will get a prompt letting you know how many Projects you have checked out and you will be given to keep the Projects checked out after checking in. This will check in the projects then immediately check them back out to your machine. This option is nice for those who want to check in their Projects to update the SI 2017 Server (so they get backed up) but still want to keep custody of the Projects so no other user can edit the Projects.

 

Check Out

 

Clicking the [Check In] button will transfer a copy of the SI 2017 Project files from your SI 2017 Server to your local SI 2017 Client machine. You can then edit the Projects when connected to the SI 2017 Server.

 

The default local folder for SI 2017 Projects is: C:\Users\username\Documents\SI 2017 Projects

 

This local Project Folder path can be *changed here.

 

* The SI 2017 Project folder should be on your SI 2017 Client machine as this speeds up performance when editing projects.

 

When a project is checked out, the user and machine name will display in the "Checked Out To" column in Project grid:

 

Undo Check Out

 

 

The [Undo Check Out] button is there for if you make a mistake on a Project and accidentally save the Project. If you are willing to forgo all of the edits you've made while editing the Project, you can use this feature. It will remove the "Checked Out" status of the Project and you can then Check Out the Project to begin editing it again.

 

This will only be active for Projects that are checked out to your User and on your SI 2017 Client machine. You will get the following warning:

 

Force Undo Check Out

 

 

Under the [Other Tools] button there is the Force Undo Check Out feature. If you are willing to forgo all of the edits the User has made while editing the Project, you can use this feature. It will remove the "Checked Out" status of the Project and you can then Check Out the Project to begin editing it again. This could occur if an employee checks out a Project and then disappears with the laptop...

 

This function is active when you're logged in with a User assigned to the "Administrators" Group. Also, this will only be active for Projects not checked out to your User and on your SI 2017 Client machine. You will get the following warning:

 

Last modified
17:11, 2 Mar 2017

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.